Sunday, December 4, 2011

No place for Freddie, Benschop, Van West Charles & others in AFC parliamentary seats

The small opposition Alliance For Change (AFC) yesterday announced six of the seven members who will represent the party in the National Assembly and missing from that list are some notable who had/were promised so much.

Those who will be in parliament are Moses Nagamootoo, Khemraj Ramjattan, Raphael Trotman, Cathy Hughes, Veerasammy Ramayya and youth representative Trevor Williams. The representative for Region Eight is still to be decided upon and this is expected to be done in a few days time. In the previous parliament, David Patterson, Latchmin Punalall and the late Sheila Holder as well as Ramjattan and Trotman represented the party in the National Assembly.

Gerhard Ramsaroop, Freddie Kissoon, Mark Benschop, Dr Richard Van West Charles, Rajendra Bissessar are among several persons who many felt would've been selected. In 2006 after the AFC obtained 5 seats in parliament there was a public disagreement between the party and founder member Gaumattie Singh who claimed that she was denied a seat after being initially promised by Trotman and Ramjattan. She subsequently left the party and was later doused by an unknown assailant with a corrosive substance.

No comments:

Post a Comment